Last week, Quiet Riot officially named American Idol finalist James Durbin as the band's new singer, sacking Seann Nicols after just five performances. With the new album Road Rage on the way, the group found themselves in a tough predicament considering Nicols sang on the forthcoming record. Now, the decision has been made to re-record with Durbin on board, pushing the album's release back from April 21 until later this summer.

Quiet Riot broke the new on their Facebook page (post below), as drummer Frankie Banali stated, "After careful consideration, with the support of Frontiers [band's record label] and understanding the appeals from Quiet Riot fans to have our vocalist James Durbin represented on the new Quiet Riot release, we have made the decision to move forward and have James replace all the vocals on Road Rage with new lyrics and melodies for a summer 2017 release. Stay tuned!”

Banali had previously stated, “When I wrote the material for Road Rage with my songwriting partner Neil Citron, James was my favorite. Because he had other commitments, I had to look for a replacement and Seann Nichols was the third on my candidate list. Of course, I would prefer James to be heard on Road Rage, but you can only work with the people who are currently available.”

Nicols had joined the band in October, but Banali cited "creative and personal differences" as the reason for the split. The singer rebounded quickly, linking up with Bobby Blotzer's Ratt earlier in the week.

Where Does Quiet Riot's Metal Health Rank Among the Top 30 Hair Metal Albums?

You Think You Know Hair Metal?

More From Q 105.7