This is one of the reasons I sometimes hate technology.

During this time of need families, businesses and educators have found the web app Zoom to be incredibly helpful to stay connected with friends, families, co-workers, and teachers. Of course, we just can't have nice things without someone coming along and trying to ruin them. That's the case with the latest Zoom scam that is hitting the internet.

According to the Better Business Bureau here's how the scam works. Out of the blue, you receive an email, text, or social media message that includes Zoom’s logo and a message saying something like, “Your Zoom account has been suspended. Click here to reactivate.” or “You missed a meeting, click here to see the details and reschedule.” You might even receive a message welcoming you to the platform and requesting you click on a link to activate your account.

Once you click the link, the scammers install malware onto your computer and start stealing your data or using your computer files for their own use.

To avoid getting phished, BBB recommends double-checking any sender’s information: Zoom.com and Zoom.us are the only official Zoom domains. Additionally, it’s never wise to click on anything — links, photos, files — in unsolicited emails or texts.

Whenever I encounter a link that I'm unsure of I usually right-click the link to see what that actual address is. If it looks suspicious I don't click on it and check with the company to see if they actually sent the message.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app

 

 

How Capital Region Towns Got Their Names